Our network

2013 Bibb County Teacher of the Year Recognized | Best Of

Title (Max 100 Characters)

2013 Bibb County Teacher of the Year Recognized
Best Of, News, Schools
2013 Bibb County Teacher of the Year Recognized

Marketing teacher Katie Wall from Westside High School was recognized at the November 15 Board Meeting for being named the 2013 Bibb County Teacher of the Year, and all five of the top finalists for Teacher of the Year were recognized with a commemorative award.

Ms. Wall was named the Bibb County of Teacher of the Year during the annual gala celebrating all Bibb County School District 2012-2013 Teachers of the Year on Thursday, November 8, at the Anderson Conference Center at Goodwill. She has been an educator since 2009 at Westside High School, where she serves as a member of the Administrative Leadership Team and mentors new teachers. She is also Department Chair of the school's Career, Technical and Agricultural Education (CTAE) program.

Ms. Wall was named one of the Top 5 Finalists for District Teacher of the Year at the October 18 Board Meeting. The other finalists were Nadirah Mayweather, Bloomfield Middle School; Christopher Kirby, Central High School; Tara Jones-Lawrence, Northeast High School; and Julia Manard, Rutland High School.

During the November 15 Board Meeting, MidSouth Community Federal Credit Union Board of Directors Vice Chairman Cecil Ethridge presented Ms. Wall with an official $1,000 Share Certificate. Ms. Wall also was presented with an iPad from the District that may be used during her term as District Teacher of the Year.

As the Bibb County Teacher of the Year, Ms. Wall will also receive a $500 check from the Madison Fund, which is a fund set up in honor of former Superintendent of Schools Dr. Thomas Madison.

Ms. Wall will now compete for the title of 2014 Georgia Teacher of the Year. The state Teacher of the Year will be announced in spring 2013.

Best Of, News, Schools

Macon Deals

Macon Businesses