Our network

Macon-Bibb delays OK on animal welfare chief | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Macon-Bibb delays OK on animal welfare chief

In a 8-1 vote Tuesday, Macon-Bibb's Commission approved all but one of Mayor Reichert's recommendations for the newly consolidated government's department heads.

The animal welfare director position from the list was removed from the list.

The position is currently held by Sarah Tenon, but Mayor Reichert recommended Van Vandewalker for the job instead.

Vandewalker was the former interim director of Macon Animal Control before suddenly resigning in 2012.

Commissioner Mallory Jones was the only "no" vote to the approval of the department heads.

He told 13WMAZ the decision to drop Vandewalker from the vote is a loss for Macon-Bibb and rescue groups who supported the appointment.

"They know Van's character. They know the job he did. They know he loves animals, they know he'd welcome the animal rescue people. We can have a real shining star in Macon. We're not going to have that without Van. The animal rescue people will not come back if Ms. Tenon is the director," Jones said.

But Commissioner Virgil Watkins said he voted to delay the decision on an animal welfare director because he believes Tenon was doing her job well and shouldn't be replaced.

"Particularly with animal control, I was very interested in staying the same direction. I thought a lot of good things have happened under Ms. Tenon's leadership that I was interested in seeing continue," Watkins said.

Chris Floore, Macon-Bibb's public affairs director, says the Mayor will have to re-visit his recommendations for the animal welfare position.

Tenon declined to comment Tuesday night.

The approved department heads are as follows:

Human Services- Benjamin Hubbard

Information Technology- Stephen Mateller

Engineering- David Forston

Business Development Sevices- Thomas Buttram

Facilities Management- Gene Simonds

Recreation- Dale "Doc" Dougherty

Vehicle and Equipment Maintenance- Samuel Hugley

Solid Waste- Kevin Barkley

Parks and Beautification- Stephen Lawson

Emergency Management- Donald Druitt

Purchasing- Myesha Daley

Economic and Community Development- Wanzina Jackson

Municipal Court- Terry Bizzell, Sr.

E-911- Keith Moffett


Macon Deals

Macon Businesses